Referees appointed for The Rugby Championship

08 May 2015
Referees appointed for The Rugby Championship

World Rugby has announced the match official appointments for The Rugby Championship which gets underway on July 17 in Christchurch.
 
Appointments were made by the World Rugby Match Official Selection Committee at its meeting in Dublin recently and follow a detailed review of performances during the 6 Nations and other tournaments.
 
The Rugby Championship opener between New Zealand and Argentina on Friday, 17 July in Christchurch will be officiated by Rugby World Cup 2011 final referee Craig Joubert, while there will also be appointments for Nigel Owens, Jérôme Garcès, Jaco Peyper, Wayne Barnes and Romain Poite. All these referees are part of the Rugby World Cup 2015 match officials panel, which was announced last month.

Owens will also referee the test match between New Zealand and Australia in Auckland on 15 August, which is not an official Rugby Championship match, while Glen Jackson will take control of a similar game between Argentina and South Africa on the same day in Buenos Aires. 

In addition, an experienced group of assistant referees and television match officials has also been named for the Rugby Championship featuring a blend of northern and southern hemisphere match officials. 

The World Rugby Match Official Selection Committee, chaired by John Jeffrey, comprises former elite referees Lyndon Bray (SANZAR), Andrew Cole (SANZAR), Donal Courtney (EPCR), Clayton Thomas (Six Nations) and World Rugby High Performance Match Officials Manager Joël Jutge. 

The committee meets four times a year and makes selections for the next international window with all performances reviewed in advance of selection.

Appointments are outlined below with the asterisk (*) denoting the match occurs the following day in this territory due to time difference.

Match New Zealand v Argentina @ AMI Stadium, Christchurch
Date Friday 17 July 2015
Kick-Off 19:35 local, 17:35 AEST, 09:35 SAST, 04:35 ART
Referee Craig Joubert
AR1 Jaco Peyper
AR2 Stuart Berry
TMO George Ayoub

Match Australia v South Africa @ Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Date Saturday 18 July 2015
Kick-Off 20:05 local, 22:05 NZST, 12:05 SAST, 07:05 ART
Referee Nigel Owens
AR1 Glen Jackson
AR2 Mike Fraser
TMO Ben Skeen

Match South Africa v New Zealand @ Emirates Airlines Park, Johannesburg
Date Saturday 25 July 2015
Kick-Off 17:35 local, 1:05* AEST, 03:05* NZST, 12:05 ART
Referee Jérôme Garcès
AR1 Romain Poite
AR2 Leighton Hodges
TMO Graham Hughes

Match Argentina v Australia @ Estadio Malvinas Argentina, Mendoza
Date Saturday 25 July 2015
Kick-Off 19:40 local, 08:40* AEST, 10:40* NZST, 00:40* SAST
Referee Jaco Peyper
AR1 Chris Pollock
AR2 Stuart Berry
TMO Shaun Veldsman

Match Australia v New Zealand @ ANZ Stadium, Sydney
Date Saturday 8 August 2015
Kick-Off 20:05 local, 22:05 NZST, 12:05 SAST, 07:05 ART
Referee Wayne Barnes
AR1 Nigel Owens
AR2 Federico Anselmi
TMO Shaun Veldsman

Match South Africa v Argentina @ Growthpoint KINGS PARK, Durban
Date Saturday 8 August 2015
Kick-Off 17:05 local, 01:05* AEST, 03:05* NZST, 12:05 ART
Referee Romain Poite
AR1 JP Doyle
AR2 Marius Mitrea
TMO Ben Skeen

Please note the following matches are stand-alone Tests and not officially part of The Rugby Championship 2015.
 
Match New Zealand v Australia @ Eden Park, Auckland
Date Saturday 15 August 2015
Kick-Off 19:35 local, 17:35 AEST, 09:35 SAST, 04:35 ART
Referee Nigel Owens
AR1 Wayne Barnes
AR2 Federico Anselmi
TMO Shaun Veldsman

Match Argentina v South Africa @ TBC, Buenos Aires
Date Saturday 15 August 2015
Kick-Off TBC
Referee Glen Jackson
AR1 Romain Poite
AR2 Mike Fraser
TMO George Ayoub