O'Keeffe to make referee debut as late call-up

21 Feb 2015
O'Keeffe to make referee debut as late call-up

Ben O'Keeffe will make his Super Rugby refereeing debut in Saturday's Highlanders v Crusaders match at Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin, which kicks off at 19:35 NZDT, 17:35 AEDT, 08:35 SAST.

Chris Pollock, who was originally appointed to the match, rolled his ankle while completing his pre-game preparation and has been advised to rest as a result of some minor swelling. He is expected to be fit and available for selection next week.

O'Keeffe started refereeing whilst at medical school in Dunedin and quickly progressed through the ranks. He has featured in the Heartland Championship, ITM Cup, as a Super Rugby assistant and at the 2014 Junior World Championship where he earned appointment to the final between England and South Africa.

Highlanders v Crusaders @ Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
Saturday 21 February 2015 - 19:35 local, 17:35 AEDT, 08:35 SAST
Referee: Ben O'Keeffe
AR1: Mike Lash
AR2: Sheldon Eden-Whaitiri
TMO: Chris Wratt